

# TOWN OF AURORA COMMUNITY RECOGNITION REVIEW AD HOC COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

**Date:** Tuesday, November 17, 2015

**Time and Location:** 3 p.m., Leksand Room, Aurora Town Hall

Committee Members: Councillor Tom Mrakas (Chair), Councillor Sandra Humfryes,

Diane Buchanan, Steve Hinder, Tim Jones, Brian North, and

Jo-anne Spitzer

Members Absent: None

Other Attendees: Jennifer Norton, Web Services and Corporate Events Co-

ordinator, Joanne Gorry, Strategist, Marketing & Public

Affairs, and Linda Bottos, Council/Committee Secretary

The Chair called the meeting to order at 3:15 p.m.

### 1. DECLARATION OF PECUNIARY INTEREST AND GENERAL NATURE THEREOF

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest under the *Municipal Conflict of Interest Act*.

#### 2. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Moved by Steve Hinder Seconded by Brian North

THAT the agenda as circulated by Legal and Legislative Services be approved.

**CARRIED** 

#### 3. RECEIPT OF THE MINUTES

Moved by Diane Buchanan Seconded by Brian North

Community Recognition Review Ad Hoc Committee Meeting Minutes of October 27, 2015

THAT the Community Recognition Review Ad Hoc Committee Meeting Minutes of October 27, 2015, be received for information.

**CARRIED** 

#### 4. **DELEGATIONS**

None

#### 5. MATTERS FOR CONSIDERATION

#### 1. Round Table Discussion

The Committee discussed options for the composition of a Selection Committee that would review the Community Recognition Awards nominations and choose the Awards recipients.

Staff provided examples of sponsorship levels for the Awards event and the Committee discussed alternatives for the various types of sponsorship proposed. Committee members volunteered to organize the elements of food, alcohol, and video sponsorships. The Committee also discussed ideas around branding and other aspects of the event. It was agreed that staff would provide further options to the Committee by email, for feedback by email, regarding sponsorship levels and branding. It was further agreed that the Committee would meet next in mid-December 2015.

#### Moved by Tim Jones Seconded by Councillor Humfryes

THAT the following four (4) members of the Committee who are Citizen of the Year recipients comprise the Selection Committee for the 2016 Community Recognition Awards: Diane Buchanan, Steve Hinder, Brian North, and Joanne Spitzer.

**CARRIED** 

#### 6. INFORMATIONAL ITEMS

## Extract from Council Meeting of November 10, 2015 Re: Community Recognition Review Ad Hoc Committee Meeting Minutes of October 27, 2015

Moved by Tim Jones
Seconded by Diane Buchanan

THAT the Extract from Council Meeting of November 10, 2015, regarding the Community Recognition Review Ad Hoc Committee meeting minutes of October 27, 2015, be received for information.

CARRIED

#### 7. NEW BUSINESS

The Committee recommended that the Community Recognition Review Ad Hoc Committee be restructured as an Advisory Committee to meet regularly with the same members, with a revised Terms of Reference for the remainder of the 2014-2018 Term, in order to maintain consistent support for the Awards process and event.

New Business Motion No. 1 Moved by Councillor Humfryes Seconded by Brian North

THAT the Community Recognition Review Ad Hoc Committee be restructured into an Advisory Committee to meet regularly, with the same membership, and a new Terms of Reference for the remainder of the 2014-2018 Term of Council.

CARRIED

#### 8. ADJOURNMENT

Moved by Steve Hinder Seconded by Tim Jones

THAT the meeting be adjourned at 4:05 p.m.

CARRIED

COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS ARE NOT BINDING ON THE TOWN UNLESS ADOPTED BY COUNCIL AT A LATER MEETING.