

TOWN OF AURORA SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

Council Chambers Aurora Town Hall Tuesday, November 17, 2015

ATTENDANCE

| COUNCIL MEMBERS | Mayor Dawe in the Chair; Councillors Abel (arrived 6:36 p.m.), Gaertner, Humfryes, Kim, Mrakas, Thom, and Thompson |
|-----------------|---|
| MEMBERS ABSENT | Councillor Pirri |
| OTHER ATTENDEES | Interim Chief Administrative Officer, Town Clerk, and Council/Committee Secretary |

Mayor Dawe called the meeting to order at 6:33 p.m.

1. DECLARATION OF PECUNIARY INTEREST AND GENERAL NATURE THEREOF

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest under the *Municipal Conflict of Interest Act.*

2. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Moved by Councillor Mrakas Seconded by Councillor Thompson

THAT the requirements of subsection 3.13(b) of the Procedural By-law be waived to permit consideration of Item 1, Motion for Which Notice Has Been Given (a) Councillor Thompson; Re: Election of Regional Chair for Region of York, prior to the next regular Council meeting; and

THAT the agenda as circulated by Legal and Legislative Services be approved. CARRIED (two-thirds vote)

3. DELEGATIONS

None

4. CONSIDERATION OF BUSINESS FOR WHICH NOTICE WAS GIVEN

1. Motion For Which Notice Has Been Given

(a) Councillor Thompson Re: Election of Regional Chair for Region of York

Moved by Councillor Thompson Seconded by Councillor Mrakas

WHEREAS the following Notice of Motion regarding the election of a Regional Chair, moved by Regional Councillor Joe Li and seconded by Mayor Justin Altmann, has been placed on the Region of York's November 19, 2015 agenda;

"NOTICE OF MOTION

Moved by:Regional Councillor Joe LiSeconded by:Mayor Justin Altmann

WHEREAS The Regional Municipality of York (the "Region of York") was established in 1971;

AND WHEREAS the head of the council of the Region of York (the "Regional Chair") has always been appointed by the members of council, pursuant to the applicable legislation;

AND WHEREAS, in 2003, a second option was introduced under subsection 218(1) of the *Municipal Act*, 2001 (the "Act"), which permits the head of council of an upper-tier municipality, to be "elected by general vote", in accordance with the *Municipal Elections Act*, 1996, as an alternative to appointment by Regional Council, subject to the process set out in the Act;

AND WHEREAS subsection 219(2) of the Act sets out a cumbersome process to change from appointment to direct election of the Regional Chair, referred to as the "triple majority";

AND WHEREAS the following Regional Municipalities now elect their Regional Chair by general vote under the *Municipal Elections Act*, 1996:

Regional Municipality of Halton Regional Municipality of Durham Regional Municipality of Waterloo

AND WHEREAS Private Member's Bill 42, the *Municipal Amendment Act* (Election of Chair of York Region), 2014, was tabled in the Ontario Legislature on November 14, 2014 by the MPP for Newmarket-Aurora, Chris Ballard (the "Bill"), and has been given second reading and referred to the Standing Committee on the Legislative Assembly;

AND WHEREAS the Bill proposes revisions to subsection 218(1) of the *Municipal Act*, 2001 that require the Regional Chair to be elected by a general vote in accordance with the *Municipal Elections Act*, 1996;

AND WHEREAS on June 14, 2012, the council of the Region of York resolved not to support Bill 60, a predecessor of Bill 42, and to retain the status quo regarding the election of the Regional Chair;

AND WHEREAS the present process of the council of the Region of York appointing their own Regional Chair deprives the residents of a democratic process for a senior member of Regional government.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED:

- 1) That the Region of York express its support for Bill 42, and request the Province of Ontario to pass Bill 42 and require the head of council of The Regional Municipality of York to be elected by general vote in accordance with the *Municipal Elections Act*, 1996, beginning in the next municipal election; and,
- 2) That this Motion be sent to The Honourable Kathleen Wynne, Premier of Ontario, The Honourable Ted McMeekin, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Patrick Brown, Leader of the Official Opposition (Progressive Conservative Party), Andrea Horwath, Leader of the New Democratic Party, all MPPs in the Region of York, including Chris Ballard, and the Councils of all municipalities within the Region of York.";

NOW THEREFORE BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED THAT the Town of Aurora endorse the Motion to Elect the Regional Chair from Regional Councillor Li and Mayor Altmann; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the Town of Aurora send a letter to the Region of York expressing our support for the concept of an elected Regional Chair; and BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the Town of Aurora express its support to the Province for Bill 42 which would require the head of council of The Regional Municipality of York to be elected by general vote in accordance with the *Municipal Elections Act*, 1996, beginning in the next municipal election.

| | On a recorded vote the motion CARRIED |
|--------------|--|
| YEAS: 7 | NAYS: 1 |
| VOTING YEAS: | Councillors Abel, Gaertner, Humfryes, Kim, |
| | Mrakas, Thom, and Thompson |
| VOTING NAYS: | Mayor Dawe |
| ABSENT: | Councillor Pirri |

5. READING OF BY-LAW

Moved by Councillor Abel Seconded by Councillor Thompson

5785-15 BEING A BY-LAW to Confirm Actions by Council Resulting from Special Council Meeting on November 17, 2015.

CARRIED

6. ADJOURNMENT

Moved by Councillor Abel Seconded by Councillor Thompson

THAT the meeting be adjourned at 6:51 p.m.

CARRIED

GEOFFREY DAWE, MAYOR

STEPHEN M. A. HUYCKE, TOWN CLERK

THE MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING OF NOVEMBER 17, 2015, ARE SUBJECT TO FINAL APPROVAL BY COUNCIL ON NOVEMBER 24, 2015.