

Town of Aurora Inaugural Council Meeting Minutes

Council Chambers, Aurora Town Hall Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Attendance

Council Members Mayor Mrakas in the Chair; Councillors Gaertner, Gallo, Gilliland,

Humfryes, Kim, and Thompson

Members Absent None

Other Attendees Lori A. Thompson, LL.B, Doug Nadorozny, Chief Administrative

Officer, Robin McDougall, Director of Community Services, Jason Gaertner, Acting Director of Financial Services, Allan Downey, Director of Operational Services, Marco Ramunno, Director of Planning and Development Services, Stephanie Mackenzie-Smith, Manager of Corporate Communications, Patricia De Sario, Town Solicitor, Michael de Rond, Town Clerk, Linda Bottos, Council/

Committee Coordinator, Ishita Soneji, Council/Committee

Coordinator

1. Processional

Town Crier John Webster announced the commencement of the new Council session of the 2018-2022 Term of Council for the Town of Aurora. The Mayor and Members of Council were escorted into the Council Chambers by Piper Colin Johnstone and The Royal Canadian Legion Branch 385 Colour Guard led by Ontario Command Parade Commander Ken White.

2. O Canada

Singer/songwriter Louisa Barbosa led the assembly in the singing of the National Anthem.

3. Call to Order

Town Clerk Michael de Rond called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone present.

4. Administration of the Oath of Office to the Mayor and Presentation of Mayor's Chain of Office

Lori A. Thompson LL.B administered the Declaration of Office to Mayor Tom Mrakas. The Town Clerk then presented the Chain of Office to Mayor Mrakas.

5. Administration of the Oath of Office to the Councillors

Lori A. Thompson LL.B administered the Declaration of Office collectively to the Members of Council.

6. Introduction of the New Members of Council

Mayor Mrakas assumed the Chair and congratulated the new and returning Members of Council.

7. Introduction of Dignitaries and Executive Leadership Team

Mayor Mrakas welcomed everyone present and recognized a number of dignitaries including former councillors, former Town of Aurora Mayor Tim Jones, Central York Fire Services Fire Chief Ian Laing, Dawn Gallagher Murphy representing MPP Christine Elliott, Sarah Campbell representing MP Kyle Peterson, and Aurora Public Library Chief Executive Officer Bruce Gorman. He further recognized and expressed gratitude to Louisa Barbosa, Lori A. Thompson, Town Clerk Michael de Rond and team, Executive Assistant to the CAO Kelly Gobbels, Executive Assistant to the Mayor Betty De Bartolo, and Recreation Supervisor Special Events Shelley Ware and team. Mayor Mrakas acknowledged the Chief Administrative Officer and Executive Leadership Team, noting the diligence of Town staff in providing the best service for the residents of Aurora.

8. Inaugural Address by the Mayor

Mayor Mrakas expressed appreciation to his family, friends, campaign team, and supporters. He thanked the residents of Aurora for the honour of representing the community and for their confidence in all Members of Council. Mayor Mrakas then gave his inaugural address in which he outlined the vision, challenges, and priorities for the 2018-2022 Term of Council.

9. Greetings from Councillors

Each of the Members of Council briefly addressed the assembly, acknowledging and thanking their families, friends and supporters. They expressed gratitude to the residents of Aurora for entrusting them with a position on Council and for the honour and privilege of serving the community.

10. Confirming By-law

Moved by Councillor Humfryes Seconded by Councillor Kim

That the following confirming by-law be enacted:

By-law Number 6132-18 Being a By-law to Confirm Actions by Council Resulting from a Inaugural Council Meeting on December 4, 2018.

Carried

11. Adjournment

Moved by Councillor Thompson Seconded by Councillor Gallo

That the meeting be adjourned at 8 p.m.

| | Carried |
|-------------------|-----------------------------|
| | |
| | |
| | |
| Tom Mrakas, Mayor | Michael de Rond, Town Clerk |